Record Details



Plagues and pandemics / Kate Messner ; illustrated by Falynn Koch.

Messner, Kate, (author.). Koch, Falynn, 1985- (illustrator.). Messner, Ella, (contributor.).

Additional Content For This Title

Available copies

  • 19 of 26 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Festus Public. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Festus Public Library.

Current holds

1 current hold with 26 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Festus Public Library J 614.49 Messner (Text) 32017000082067 New Juvenile Books Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

General Note:
Publisher, publication date and paging may vary.
Summary, etc.:
"Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth about history's pandemics, from the Black Death to COVID-19. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales. During the Black Death in the 14th century, plague doctors wore creepy beaked masks filled with herbs. RIGHT? WRONG! Those masks were from a plague outbreak centuries later--and most doctors never wore anything like that at all! With a mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels, acclaimed author Kate Messner delivers the whole truth about diseases like the bubonic plague, cholera, smallpox, tuberculosis, polio, influenza, and COVID-19."-- Amazon
Target Audience Note:
1110L Lexile
Subject: Epidemics > History.
Plague > History > Juvenile literature.
Quarantine > History.
Diseases and history > Juvenile literature.
Communicable diseases > History.
Black Death > Juvenile literature.
COVID-19 Pandemic, 2020- > Juvenile literature.
Public health surveillance > History.

Additional Resources